|Posted on May 20, 2013 at 6:38 PM|
Red Bird and I were playing in a club game, when two of my friends came to the table. They were dealt pretty good hands and soon reached a contract of 4S even though Red Bird had overcalled 2H after Miss M opened 1S. Red Bird was on lead and placed a low diamond on the table, which I ruffed.
I'm a good partner so I led my partner's suit, high from my doubleton 9 4. Red Bird won the Heart Q and led another diamond and I scored my second ruff. Naturally, I played my second heart showing high-low, a doubleton in her suit. She won the Heart Ace and played a THIRD diamond for my THIRD ruff. There was only one possible way to reach Red Bird for my heart ruff and I found it. I led a club, Red Bird won her Ace and gave me a heart ruff. Even though Dummy was out of hearts, I could over-ruff the dummy. Down 3!
"How come you led a diamond?" asked Miss M.
"Well, I have to follow Rosie's Rules," replied Red Bird.
"What do you mean?" asked Miss M.
"I'm not allowd to lead my singleton trump; I'm not allowed to lead the Ace of clubs, because I don't have the King. Same with hearts - I don't have the King to go with my Ace and I can't lead away from either of those Aces. So the only thing left was a diamond."
Miss M left the table muttering something about how she would be having nightmares about those diamonds.
Here is the whole hand: Miss M had the South hand (rotated for convenience).
North East South West
Mr A Rosie Miss M Red Bird
P P 1S 2H
2S P 4S all pass